University tour. Worth it?

simply94

So as summer draws near, so does summer holiday plans....

Heard and read from various places that IB1 summer should be spent productively. Completely agree. With EE, IAs and IB2 right up our necks we should treasure each and every moment of summer.

As I am an international student and have only visited the UK in the summer of 8th grade, of which i only retain vague memories, I am considering the option of going for a university tour in the UK to check out universities and hopefully to talk to admissions officers. It is quite pricey for our family and does take up time, so I am not so certain about going.

If any one can provide insights of the benefits of going to a university tour, or the drawbacks, or even reasons why I shouldn't fly all the way to the UK to check out universities, that would be amazing.

Many thanks in advance.

Of course it's a long way and it will be an expensive trip. But you will most likely get a better picture of which of the universities you visited seems to be the best for you and what the admission requirements are and other facts that will perhaps be good to know and stuff like that.

I think you should go there to see what it all looks like and get more information about the universities. So if you have the time and money to go there, do it :)

I was in exactly the same situation. Last summer I went up to the UK for 10 days and visited about 7 universities, and it was a HUGE advantage. If you plan it out so that you can attend as many open days as possible that's even better, because you get a better feel of the universities.