Economics VS Psychology

Guest wanderluster

Guest wanderluster

I'm trying to choose between SL Economics and SL Psychology. I'd like to go into either a social science or something in ethics. I'm not a math or science person by any means, but economics might be beneficial if I go into politics or the like. I've heard great things about the psychology course, and I think it would interest me more. My school doesn't have the best course selection, at least for my interests, but this is what I'm looking at taking.

HL English

HL History

HL Chemistry ( I have to take chemistry or physics at higher level to meet requirements)

SL Math

SL French

SL Economics or Psychology

Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Hi! Looking at your subject combination it would be best if you choose psychology since, I am an HL student of the same. Also, SL psych is pretty easy to crack, though the core topics will be the same. If you really find human sciences interesting, then go for it cause Eco requires a lot of mathematical skills to be involved apart from the theory. Also, in pysch SL your ia's will be the easiest!

anyways, best of luck! :imoff:

• 2 weeks later...

Being a HL history student and a HL economics student I would suggest that you take economics over psychology. Economics SL lacks any kind of mathematics, the only math found in Economics is in HL, the rest is just theory for SL. I found economic theory to be very helpful whilst doing my history papers. specifically with paper 1(depending on which bullet point you get) , paper 2 topic : causes, practices and effects of wars and paper 3 topic: The Great Depression and the Americas 1929-39. From knowing how difficult it is to study for HL history the additional knowledge gained in Economics was helpful.