A strong hypothesis

FrederikkeIsabella

I am a pre-IB student, and I am currently in the process of writing a biology lab report. However, I am finding the hypothesis really hard to write. I never did a biology report in my previous studies (i just started pre-IB, 5 months after the other students since I spend a semester abroad). I just put this topic under Biology SL/HL since I figured you were the ones who knew the most about it.

The topic is enzyme activity (specifically amylase), and so far, I have written following for my hypothesis: "The experiment will show whether or not the enzyme amylase is present in the enzyme solution. If amylase is present, the iodine will react with the starch."

I am fully aware that this hypothesis is not as strong as it should be, so if you have any kind of advice or inputs, I would be more than happy to hear them!

Thank you

Edited by FrederikkeBuus

what is your research question for your IA? What exactly are you looking at in terms of enzyme activity: is it temperature, pH, concentration etc.? And what are your dependent & independent variables? Tell us and we can help you :)

It is not an internal assessment, it is just a small report we had to do after doing a lab in biology, so I don't have a research question or a dependent and independent variable. In fact, I am not sure what those last two things are, lol.

The aim of the lab, however, was to find out whether or not the enzyme amylase was present in our saliva. These are some of the questions my biology teacher submitted for us. I hope that helps a little:

Answer 6 and 7 in the discussion)

1. What were the results of the experiment? Explain thoroughly.

2. Describe and explain the change in the rate of reaction when the temperature changes and combine this knowledge with the experiment.

I have tried to make the hypothesis a little more detailed, but I am not sure if it is better.