Cambridge Medicine

mmmt2012

I was just wondering if anyone knew any information about getting into Cambridge Medical School? I'm currently a year 10 student in Australia and I wanted to know if i should do anything in particular? My subjects for next year are chinese, HL maths, biology, chemisty, english, and economics... should I partake in more extra-curricular activities? i hear that Universities like Oxford and Cambridge do not consider extra curricular activities as important as ivy league colleges.. I am much more studious rather than involved in out of school activities, would Cambridge expect more impressive things on my resumes? competitions, awards, leadership? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

You don't need 5 Higher Levels

They require 40-42 points overall, with 7 7 6 / 7 7 7 at HL with...HL Chemistry and 2 of HL Maths/Physics/Biology

So I'd recommend moving English, Chinese and Economics to SL because you don't need them.

Some extra curricular s, about two or three you partake with a passion they'd be interested in, but it is more focused on your academic side of medicine and having some relevant work experience and extra reading on medicinal science they are more interested in.

As far as I know all ''top'' schools love good EC's. What are your HL subjects? I think Cambridge requires 42 points and HL Bio and Chemistry with HL's being 777 or 776. This is incredibly tough to do, especially with Math HL. Definitely keep your options open so you don't set yourself up for disappointment, sometimes it's vital to be realistic - There are so many applicants every year, even if you get an amazing score you aren't set.