Bonding Angles Explained

AustralianIB

I have been tutoring Chemistry for over 2 years now and one of the topics students continually struggle with is Bonding, especially with regards to bond angles and VSEPR Theory.

The key points to remember from VSEPR Theory are:

- Electrons repel each other and thus spread out to minimise repulsion

- Lone pairs further compress the bonding angle (I use 2 degrees as a rule of thumb)

Throughout this explanation, I will be referring to negative charge centres, defined as:

- A Single, Double or Triple Bond (Counts as one negative charge centre)

- A non-bonding pair

HL students can use this definition:

- sigma bond

- non-bonding pair

The hard part is working out how many bonding and non-bonding pairs there are. This comes through practice and being able to recognise molecules from experience (I'll give a few tips about this at the end)

The easy part is memorising is knowing what to do after you know how many negative charge centres and non-bonding pairs there are. Let's go through this now:

Note - when I write say 4 negative charge centres, 2 non-bonding pairs, I mean:

- 4 negative charge centres, of which 2 are non-bonding pairs

- NOT 4 negative charge centres and 2 non-bonding pairs

1 negative charge centre:

If there is only 1 negative charge centre, the shape can only be linear (180 degrees)

Examples include H2, O2 Cl2 F2 N2 etc.

2 Negative charge centres:

0 non-bonding pairs

If there are 2 negative charge centres, e.g. CO2, the charge centres will automatically repel each other to be as far apart as possible.

Hence: Linear, 180 degrees

1 non- bonding pair

This essentially means that there is only 1 bond, so linear, 180 degrees

3 Negative charge centres:

0 non-bonding pairs

3 negative charge centres trying to spread out to minimise repulsion means basically 360 degrees/3 = 120 degrees.

Shape: trigonal planar

1 non-bonding pair

Using the rule of thumb of -2, this would be 118 degrees

Shape: Bent