A number of questions about university admissions (US and UK)

sarahlouise

Ok so I have a few miscellaneous questions about applying to university in the UK and the US. (I'll probably add more if I think of more)

Some of them may be a bit silly, but bear with me please!

US -

Firstly, does applying for financial aid affect your chances of admission at all if the US college is NOT needs-blind? I've read conflicting reports on this. (If it changes things, I'm an international student).

Secondly, is your predicted score as important as your final score? Or is it less important but still important, or not important at all?

Also, with the common application EC bit, what if the hours that you've done things have varied a heap - should you just average it out or something?

Lastly, with the GPA, what if your school doesn't do it? Should you leave it blank, or just approximate it? Or should a school counsellor know how to work it out? (the system is different here, so it's hard to work out GPA since year 9 (freshman))

UK -

With the UCAS personal statement, you write one that's sent out to all your selected universities, am I right? What if you apply to say, history at one but history and politics at the other. Either you skip over the politics bit completely, or a university (to which you're applying for only history) reads irrelevant stuff about politics. Or can you write another one and adapt it?

Thanks in advance!

US -

Firstly, does applying for financial aid affect your chances of admission at all if the US college is NOT needs-blind? I've read conflicting reports on this. (If it changes things, I'm an international student).

Yes, very substantially.

Secondly, is your predicted score as important as your final score? Or is it less important but still important, or not important at all?

They're both not very important. Your predicated would be more important I suppose for admissions. Your actual would be more important for credit.