Applying to University in the UK : Do I Have A Chance?

emmanem

Here are the universities I want to apply to:

Oxford - PPE

London School of Economics - International Relations

University College London - European Social and Political Studies

University of Edinburgh - International Relations and Law

I am only in my first year of the IB diploma, but I have a few questions...

What extracurriculars will look good in conjunction with my chosen degrees? (I do GSA, Political Thought, Volleyball/Soccer, Prom Committee, and I do costumes for school plays)

What subjects should I take at HL? (I am thinking English, History, and Film. My school doesn't do HL Language, but I might be able to do that on my own)

Would a History EE be best for me? (I want to do something about the Special Relationship, will that help?)

Thank you! If you have any questions I'll answer them gladly :)

Well I have no idea what GSA or Political Thought might be, but stuff demonstrating debating skills etc. is always a good idea. I know lots of people do MUN (model united nations), but debating competitions of any kind are good. IMO the format of MUN is ridiculously boring :P

For your HL subjects you'd ideally want to do 'hard' academic subjects if you want to be taken seriously (i.e. not Film, this is considered a soft subject). Also, you need to fulfil the entry requirements of the Universities you apply to as a basic minimum! Have you actually looked at these?

For instance, when applying to courses which include the word 'Economics' it is very likely that Maths will be required to a high level. Especially if you choose to make your degree more economics-based.

When applying for ESPS, you spend a year abroad in the country of your major language, so yes you do need to take it as a HL subject.