IB visual arts-- copying old paintings?

sirprizeme

I'm in my second year of visual arts HL, and although I'm sort of supposed to have a theme right now, I don't. All I really want to do is perfect my drawing skills, and, if I wasn't doing IB, I'd do that by copying drawings by the old masters.

Question. Can I submit my own drawings that are copies of other artists (mostly Renaissance painters) as pieces for the exhibit? Or do they have to be changed in some way to make them my own? Are pencil drawings not sophisticated enough for IB?

Thanks!

Hi there,

Just producing a copy of a drawing of say, a Raphael painting isn't really what you're supposed to do for IB art. Sure, you can use it as a basis for another painting or use it for inspiration (colors, content, concepts, whatever) but just reproducing the image by drawing or painting it isn't showing growth and development. You don't have to be a great artist for IB art; although it helps when making art it isn't a substitute for no concept or content.

Pencil drawings can be fine for IB art, as long as that isn't the only thing you do. You can have three or four pencil drawings, but throw in a few acrylic paintings, watercolor paintings, 3D works, collages, anything. IB loves variety and experimentation, especially when you do 3D! Make sure the pencil drawings you include are your very best work, though.