HL Biology and Chemistry?

I want to take HL Biology and Chemistry, but as I'm not very good at math, I have to take math studies. I've heard that taking both of these at HL would be really difficult because I'm not great at math. I'd like to go to medical school, so I will need a science based undergrad. I am also planning on taking a Pre-cal course after graduation in order to be accepted into university. Has anyone done both sciences at HL with math studies? Wouldit be better to just do SL Chem and HL Bio, or even just one science course( I don't really like that option)? I am also concidering med school in England, so if that makes any difference...

You should be fine to do both at HL with Maths Studies. There are no maths principles in Biology really, and relatively few in Chemistry. You can cope with Chem without doing SL Maths Methods, I reckon. At least I don't remember doing Maths Methods making me feel any less confused for HL Chem :P Really, the mathematical elements of Chem are kinda unrelated to the Maths syllabus and more difficult because they're difficult Chemistry concepts than because the Maths itself is hard.

Also, if you want to go to the UK, medical school spots are very competitive (I'm sure it's the same in Canada) and although it's not a requirement, it'll probably look better to do SL Maths than Maths Studies. Just saying whilst it's still early enough for you to consider! That and hardly any Medical schools (I think maybe 1?) in the UK will accept anybody without HL Chemistry ;)

• 1 month later...
Guest Red XII

What little math is involved in Chem HL is almost exclusively algebra. You don't have to do a whole lot of it, and it's really just plugging numbers into formulas in a relatively straightforward manner. Your math ability shouldn't be much of a deciding factor in whether to take Chem (or whether to take it HL or SL).