Apply for English with a 7 for English SL?

jwander

I'm an international student from Hong Kong and very interested in studying English in UK. However, due to various reasons, I have wrongly chosen to study English A1 SL, instead of HL, which now I regret so much. (But it'd be impossible to change subjects now. Plus I've got a very good teacher for English SL) I understand that most universities definitely want English HL but now I'm trying to do everything to compensate the loss. I will make sure to get a firm 7 for English SL definitely. And I'm doing my EE on English and planning to read a whole lot of books in summer. Hopefully I will be able to write a better PS to impress.

Subjects I take:

History HL

Philosophy HL

Chinese A2 HL

English A1 SL

Maths SL

Environmental Studies SL

For uni app I'm still in the beginning stage in thinking about where to apply. I enjoy studying English literature very much, more than anything else I would say. I would expect getting 40-42 points at the end and now start to consider Durham, UCL, King's, or even Cambridge (for a high reach). But I just want to know how much my chance would be to apply for English with English SL? (I know it looks so stupid...) I'm afraid that it'd be very dangerous for me to apple for English and I'd end up getting nothing.

Has anyone got any advice/experience to share? I'm kinda worried. Thanks :)

Edited by jwander

History HL, Philosophy HL, English A1 SL: all subjects which require good English and essay writing skills. I don't believe you are at a great disadvantage to those who take HL English. Oxbridge might be another matter, but as I said before, your abilities should be inferred in those essay orientated subjects.