HL Biology exams--Studying the syllabus

IBavictim

Hi, I was wondering... is it enough just to study the biology syllabus for the hl exams? (my teacher just based her notes on that anyway =\ ) I'm worried that there would be new things on the exam that are unfamiliar to me.

Also, about how many hours should I spend studying? I know it differs with everyone, but I'd like a range so I could try to finish up by a certain time and move on to other subjects (like history :crying: )

:') I'd really appreciate your help/tips-thank you ! ^u^

Yes, there will be nothing outside of the syllabus in the exams. You should check the past papers to see what's required from.

I've probably done around 40 hours of biology revision so far and am planning to do about 25 more hours before the exams, although I am studying SL Biology and have studied pretty consistently throughout the course. As mentioned above, check past papers, see how you do, and with the performance that you want in mind decide on how long you should spend on studying :)

There will be nothing outside the syllabus, just make sure you know every single point in the syllabus. The only thing that may be outside the syllabus is the Section A of P2, apart from that every single thing is from the syllabus. Mostly P1 questions are from the OBJ1 syllabus points.

This may help you.

As for the hours, I didn't count how many hours I studied because I studied biology everyday from the beginning of IB, so at the end of IB2, I just had to revise a little to recall things from IB1.

The only thing that may be outside the syllabus is the Section A of P2, apart from that every single thing is from the syllabus

Yup that's what I said. Though to be honest with you, graph reading could be practiced in class if a teacher is really experienced and all. But I never studied for section A..so just concentrate and you'll be fine.

Guest Soiboist