Musical Investigation

Lynsey

Hello,

So I am comparing Finnish folk music (using the song Vot Vot Ja Niin Niin by Varttina) and modern day Western Finnish rock (using the band HIM, The Rasmus, Poets of the Fall, or Negative... haven't decided on a song yet). I am having trouble finding a common link between the two, however, since I don't have physical music to look at. Any ideas? :(

Hmm... so u want the actual scores to compare? Well I suggest you try to obtain them asap, but in the meantime you could try downloading the midi files of the songs which should show up on a program such as Sibelius. However, don’t expect a nicely laid out score, IT WILL BE A MESS with hidden notes and lots of ties, basically the result of a computer interpreting music. So it might not be worth doing if time is important. Have you tried searching for free scores on google?

I see, well I'm no music expert but I did do music for gcse. I DO NOT TAKE IB MUSIC, so the advice I am giving is purely my opinion and may seem elementary.

I listened to Vot vot ja niin niin and there were some key features which could be related to pop songs nowadays. The first was call and response, the lead singer would sing a phrase and the chorus would imitate the lead singer in the bars after.

The second was the repetitive base. I could not hear whether it was a four bar cycle or an eight bar (I bet four bar) but most pop songs follow a four bar chord progression which repeats and repeats. Another feature of the base was that it played the base note then played and octave higher. So in one beat it would have quaver base quaver octave and so on. This is extremely similar to Euro trance and other types of club music.

The third is a hook line, i.e. the most memorable melody of a song which is repeated throughout the song in phrases. ALL songs have a vocal hook line.