IB HL Physics

FlyingPiggies

I am in 11th grade and I have took IB HL Physics in the beginning and then dropped down to SL since i found HL too hard. How much different is SL from HL? I have been an A student throughout highschool, but i am worried i will do really bad in Physics since everyone says its a very hard subject and i myself find it quite challenging.

Think my physics teacher has the best motto for this. "The point is not the points" and physics I feel is just understand...well...physical science, sure there's equations and math, but it kind of makes sense if you physically know what is happening? Ohm's law for example, V=IR, so I=V/R, the more resistance the less current, physically makes sense (this is not saying that electricity makes sense, because it doesn't...)

• Like 1

To be honest, at the beginning HL isn't that different from SL. I have just completed IB1 and all of the stuff that HL physics is done, most of the SL students could do, I'm sure with the option topics etc that will change and HL will get harder though. I find physics to be a subject where you can be completely lost one minute and then understand a lot of it the next minute, so especially seeing as you've only just begun IB1, keep at it. It doesn't come easily but it's important not to get too overwhelmed by the difficulty of it, this has happened to a lot of people in my class. If you don't understand concepts, ask your teacher and just keep trying to figure it out, don't just say that it is too hard. So my advice is just to keep pushing through with all of the work, I can say from my own experience that it doesn't come intuitively and easily to most people.

• Like 1

If you're taking Physics HL then you should take Math HL. That's all I can say.