English B or English A/Lit

Slimtik

Hi,

Basically I cannot decide between choosing either English B/HL or doing English A/SL. I am planning on going to uni in Europe and doing something related to Management / Engineering. My current IB choices are:

Business/ HL

Geography/ HL

Physics/ SL

Maths/ SL

German/ SL

I am currently studying English Literature with around A/B IGCSE grade. What would be the best choice for me?

Thank you.

I would say it actually doesn't really matter for university whether you are doing Eng B or Eng A in your case ! (But make sure that you are definitely doing management or engineering at college !!) So I would  say English B would be a wiser choice . So that you could have more time and energy to concentrate on other difficult subjects , makes your IB life so much easier!!!

But dare I say , I wouldn't recommend doing Business HL which is not highly regarded by universities. Do economics if your school offers it !! -- Econ is difficult by the way .. I think if you are aiming for top-notch university, It would be better to have a relatively more difficult HL subject . ( It makes your application look so much better ) Maths HL or Physics Hl maybe ? You wanna do engineering anyway , you will need both maths HL and physics HL . :)

Good luck with your IB !!!!! 

Edited by Guest

I am currently in my second year of IB English II (HL) and I have to tell you it is deceptively difficult. If engineering is your subscribed study and you are firm on sticking to your grounds, then go with the SL; however, if there is even the most remote possibility that you may want to take a nonlinear career pathway then go with HL. By deceptively difficult I mean former A+ English students (that is, previous to IB classes) are now receiving Ds, very low Ds. Naturally though, if you are truly concerned about it then scheduel a conversation with your school's IB Coordinator. ^_^ Either way, take it Bird by Bird and you will be fine. Good luck!

• Like 1