Biology HL - Can I actually pass that exam?

Naida

Unfortunately, I am a Biology HL student. Choosing Biology HL was actually against my will; I had to take it, because I had B&M and German B, both SL, no HL. Given that I didn't want to change B&M or German to any other subject, I took a chance and chose Biology HL. I regret it 24/7. I have no desire to study either Medicine or Biology, or anything else closely related to Biology, for that matter. However, my teacher is not very devoted to us (yes, there are only 2 HL students, including me) and I have to learn everything by myself. Has anyone got any tips? Anything that could assure me I can pass this freaking exam? And yes, my Biology exams are on 17 & 18 May. Lucky me.

Edited by Naida

Drink a magic potion... it's sold in every good book store

Revise efficiently and actively.

1. Make mind maps
  2. Use flash cards
  3. Practise questions
  4. Make things into a short story

What i'm trying to get across is that you should revise actively and not just read through the text book to ensure you retain as much as you can

Ohhh and start early.

Aha here's another thing. Pull this face every time you get ready to revise biology

determined-challenge-accepted-l.png

Guest Animistic Anaemia

What is your current score? And of course you can pass, everyone can with a little dedication :)

I'm actually don't agree with the post above. Biology needs dedication just like any other subject. But, the thing is, the subjects you like the least should be the one you should put most effort in as they will be the ones you'll tend to do worse.

Any natural science is about learning the mechanisms. Now, this might involve two distinct academic processes: memorising or understanding. If you want a 7, it's obvious you need both but memorising is a good path while understanding is a safe one. One thing does not prevent the other actually.