Subject Choices

Guest inscidium

Guest inscidium

I have a little concern that is bothering me a lot! I am going to start the IBDP in 2 weeks, and I have just delivered my initial subject choices to the school.

- This is what I chose:

Group 1: Self-Taught Danish SL

Group 2: English Language B HL

Group 3: Business & Management HL

Group 4: Physics SL

Group 5: Maths SL

Group 6: Economics HL

I am in serious doubt whether I have chosen the correct subjects or not. Could any of you guys please give me some advice on the university possibilities with the choices I have made? I am not sure what I want to study after IB yet, but I think it will be something business related at a top university in the US, the UK or Souteast Asia. Should i change the level on any of the subjects or not? I attended two years of the three year programme at a danish high school with Maths HL and Physics HL, so it should not be a problem to switch any of those subjects to HL if needed.

Thank you very much!

Edited by inscidium

Heyy there=) Well it looks like if you've got a good subject choice if you want to go into something business related. I also went into the IBDP not knowing what i wanted to do i made sure i had a good variety. But since you know atleast what field you want to go to..it should make life a lot easier.

I think since you want to go into something business related, you could have maths as a HL. Some top universitys (but not all) in UK for business are looking for HL math. For example, Bath university (was one of my choices) are looking for HL math for any form of business degree..thats why i dropped that uni because im doing SL math.

So far, i think you have a good subject choice=) Plus, if you don't like a subject, you can always drop down to a lower level (if its an HL) or to another subject as a whole. It will all depend on what you want to do and what makes you happy.

Good luck for the IBDP=) X