Kitchen?

kingdomx

Recently my class studied this really weird book called 'Kitchen'.

It's a Japanese books, but was translated into English by a translator.

Apparatly it's appealing to Japanese teenagers, but I found it quite different.

It's about this girl who likes Kitchens and wants to die in a kitchen....

I havent completely finished it yet, but it's getting a bit better.

But still quite weird..

Anyone else studied it?

I have, and a novelta that was in the book called moonlight shadow or something. I didn't really like it, although it had some good parts. I liked the Moonlight Shadow better than Kitchen, since it actually gets resolved. There is very little literary material in this book, which is why only a few people got to do IOP's on it.

• 3 weeks later...

Well, I am going to have to disagree here. :blink:

I studied both works last year and used them in my World Lit Paper 1 (along with another novel). First off, she doesn't want to die in a kitchen ... She does, though, feel this intimate bond with it. Despite having lost all the members of her family, her love of the kitchen is her one constant. And I actually really liked how almost detached she was at times. She often expresses her depression, but she focuses on physical things, which explains how her emotions can change so quickly.

And actually, in Japanese literature, things are seldom resolved, reflecting the culture's zen school of thought. The open interpretation is kind of the point. So I would actual argue that not everything's resolved in 'Moonlight Shadow', either. Yes, she comes to terms with her boyfriend's death, but her relationship with the brother is still entirely open.

I did like 'Moonlight Shadow' more, though. Mostly because I think the characters are given a little more history and development. But the lack of it in Kitchen does reflect the overall mood, so I almost like it, from a stylistic perspective.