is it possible for me to not take a group 4 subject?

paperinajar

hi all, 

i am currently a year 11 student attending an international school in asia. as such, i am currently preparing to sit my igcse exams in 2023 and beginning the process of selecting ib options.

for some context, i am still unsure of what i want to pursue in my post-secondary education. my two main potential routes are classical music (i come from a musical family and play both classical piano and violin at a diploma level), and an undecided area of study in the humanities/social sciences (my main interests include economics, international relations/geopolitics, etc. - i have also  considered a ppe (or equivalent) degree as well as law). i have also recently begun looking into studying english (literature) and relevant careers, such as journalism or editing, and it is currently my strongest school subject; however, it is not something i have been seriously considering for as long of a time.

currently, my preferred ibdp options are chinese b SL, math aa SL, chemistry SL, english literature HL, and any two of philosophy, economics, and music at HL. previously, i had assumed it was possible to omit a group 4 subject (it being the most tolerable science in my case, chemistry SL) in order to take all three of philosophy, economics, and music; given that group 6 serves as an elective area wherein candidates could forgo an art subject for one from other groups, i had assumed it was possible to do the same with group 4. however, with the knowledge that a regular ibdp diploma would not allow this, i am now forced to choose between the three.