Dear reader,

I am currently a grade 11 student in Ontario who has never taken pre-IB courses or any IB courses for that matter. However, starting in my second semester of my junior year, I plan on switching out my regular courses for IBDP courses (HL CHEM, HL BIO, HL ECON or HL PHYSICS, or MATH AA SL) as a certificate student. I wanted to know the following:

1. How does SL Biology and SL Chemistry compare to Normal Ontario Biology and Chemistry. I heard that it would actually be harder to succeed in the Ontario equivalents compared to the IBDP SL equivalents. Is this true?

2. How will the transition be as I have never taken Pre-IB courses in my life? I am able to consistently do 24 Pomodoro cycles a day with utmost efficiency. And because of this, the typical mainstream courses have become super easy with my work ethic. I am consistently achieving 98% + in all my courses with my marks mainly being lost due to stupid errors (i.e., 5+4+1 = 15, type mistakes). I know how to study well in the courses too and the importance of question banks. Should I just not do IB as I have never done Pre-IB?

3. Is HL Economics basically a bird course?

4. Is HL physics really that difficult?

• Good Luck 1

Considering you're doing pretty damn well in your other courses, you could give IB a shot. Here, I'm assuming you're going to try out the actual IBDP.

Let me answer your questions. 

1.) SL Chemistry and SL Biology are known to both be rigorous courses. They are by no means easy. I don't know about your local courses, but these two are standard IB courses that aren't know for being super easy. I take HL chemistry, and for me the SL chemistry content is difficult enough.