Extended essay help - phycology

hi there, I am a pre-ib student, I start ib1 in a couple months but want to get a good grasp on the course before I even start.  I have picked all my subjects but one thing that irks me is the ee (extended essay).  I am looking into different topics at the moment and I found one that could be really interesting, however I am looking to get more opinions and advice on my topic.  

I am looking into doing a phycology ee and my main focus would be based around, "Is the bond between a mother and a child solely based on psychological need or comfort?" Essentially, do  infants only bond with their mothers for food or for comfort.  Harlow's monkey experiments are going to be the main depth in my ee, he conducted an experiment to see what the monkeys prefered, the cloth dummy mother or the wire dummy mother however the wire dummy mother offered food while the cloth mother offered warmth.  The monkeys went to the cloth mother for comfort but only rarely visited the wire mother when they wanted food.  I find this topic really interesting as I could relate it back to us humans, I don't have a problem writing 4,000 or so words on it but my only concern is the choice of topic and if it is suitable for phyc? Thank you so much for reading! 

Hey! I'm currently in 11th grade, and the biggest advice I can give you is to don't freak out with your EE without even starting the IB. I'm taking psych SL, and have been in classes for about 2 weeks and the idea of the EE hasn't even been touched yet. Also, in order to have a better idea of what do you want to write about, I would recommend taking the class first, since the EE is basically a HUGE project, and specifically psych is a class that covers many topics and you may change your mind multiple times. Also, the EE is a project in which you have more than a year and a half to think, prepare, write, and whatever you want to do.