Is the Bilingual IB Diploma much of an advantage in Top University Admissions?

angelb

Would the Bilingual IB Diploma be much of an advantage in Top University Admissions?

I'm moving to a new school with IB as their curriculum so I'm rather unfamiliar with this.

I'm half French so I know how to use French for daily conversations.

I would be taking English Lang Lit and the other language being either Spanish or French. My teacher is yet to decide if I'm capable of French A. If I choose Spanish, I'd have to take it as Spanish Ab Initio. 

I want to study a new language as I'm somewhat familiar with French, thus I wanted to choose Spanish (Ab Initio), but the Bilingual Diploma sounds intriguing if I manage to do French A. 
However, I'm taking Chinese courses outside of school and will be taking German courses outside of school too so I'm worried if Spanish will be too harsh on me as I have no knowledge on it. 

What would be best? Taking Spanish AB, or attempting French A?  

On 7/7/2021 at 1:38 PM, angelb said:

What would be best? Taking Spanish AB, or attempting French A?  

What about French B HL? Because learning Spanish when you speak French is a tough job. Spanish ab initio wants the accent and the spellings and everything. I'd suggest that you listen to someone speaking in Spanish, just to be prepared to move your mouth to the language. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=htr_DmuYZhw)

Why don't you ask your school about taking French B HL? At the B HL level, you'll be writing longer essays and stuff- In French A, you'll have a lot more analytical stuff in formal academic language, which generally isn't the type of language you learn as conversational. 

Let me know what you choose, and good luck!

Edited by ZBSA

On 7/8/2021 at 5:53 PM, ZBSA said: