I am failing IB and I need your advise on how to improve.

Gizmod

Hey everyone, 

I am in my first year of diploma and semester one is almost over. I had all my tests last week and my results are out. Looking at all my grades, it is way below average. I have studied in IB all my life. I feel like MYP has not even helped me at all in DP. In MYP i got honour awards, but now in DP I am literally failing. I choose HLMath AA (4), Physics HL(1 - I did a retest and am still waiting for the results), Biology (5) and SL English Language and literature (6), History (3) and French (4). I don't know what I want to be when I grow up, so I just choose all the subjects I liked. It was a huge transition for me from MYP to DP. I find it hard to write long answer questions, especially essays in short periods of time. I know I have to improve and I have the motivation to learn and do better. 

How could I improve in each subject? Are there specific textbooks that I could use? I have bad internet at home and here, there are a lot of power cuts. 

We got this online textbook called Kognity. I find kognity annoying as it is very hard to understand. How do you guys learn the material/content?

Thanks in advance, 

Have a good day

Hi! im sorry to hear you're failing, the same thing is happening to me too.

In regards to Kognity, it is difficult to use when you use it the first couple of times, but once you play around a little bit with it and get the hang of how it works it can really safe your life!! I usually use the checklists at the end of every chapter to revise before an exam, since it tells you exactly what you need to know for the tests.

If you really don't like kognity, I also advice you to always take notes of the important concepts you need to know for the test and try and come up with questions for each topic so you can quiz yourself. 

I hope this works!!

Hey! I'm sorry to hear you're stressed at the moment. IB DP is difficult 😬