Does doing well in a language B require absolute fluency in the language?

faith

I will be starting IB next february (I study in Australia) and I am absolute overwhelmed by the thought of speaking for 10 minutes in my language B- Japanese.

I've been doing Japanese for four years now and I guess I can be considered as above average when it comes to reading and speaking, but speaking (the pronunciation, intonation) is simply beyond me. I get so nervous during the oral tests I had this year that I either spoke really fast or forgot about the things I needed to say.

Anyway, I am just wondering, does doing well (say getting a 6 or a 7) in language B require a high degree of fluency? What happens if you just don't understand what the teacher is talking about during an oral assessment?

The thing is, my Chinese is much better than my Japanese (I can manage mandarin reasonably despite the fact that my first language is cantonese) and I can actually transfer to Chinese early next year. However, I find the thought of doing all these things I already know absolutely stupid and unchallenging. What should I do?

I did French for my Language B at HL, and got a 6 for the oral. Despite having never been to France, and not even been taught by a French teacher!

It's totally possible to get a good grade on your oral if you practice it enough. The teacher doesn't talk to you much in your oral, you present a topic of interest which pertains to Japanese culture.

Besides, in 2 years, you're bound to improve further. And if you can afford it, get on a flight to Japan sometime in your IB course so that you can perfect your speaking. It'll help immensely.

I've been studying French for 11 years and the thought of speaking in french B at SL for 10 minutes scares the hell out of me.

I'm good at having conversations in French and all, but I don't do great in presentations so to speak, so doing one in a language that is not familiar to me scares me so bad.