General IB Knowledge - Ask mini-questions about IB here

ibnerd22222

I just moved to a school with IB, I'm currently a Sophomore in Pre-IB, with a few IB and AP classes.

Taking IB Pre-Calculus and it's not that bad at all.

I'm a straight A student.

What's the difference between Higher Level and Standard Level, what requirements are needed to be in a HL class?

Does IB have any requirements as to which classes are HL and which are SL?

What's the final requirement for the IB Diploma?

I just feel so lost when people try explaining it to me.

Thanks for any help ^.^

• Like 1

I dont want to be mean , but it's a survey task to understand what its's about. Higher level subjects= more work , this is true in all subjects, though in the science subjects there are LOADS of extra work it you go HL classes. You will need 24 points to get your diploma, these points are gathered by 6 subjects, you can either do 3 sl and 3 hl or 4 hl and 2 sl . I would say it is much more IB doing four HL than three. You need to feel the stress , otherwise you will never love your IB diploma i think. Hope you understand more now after this short breef.....

• Like 6

24 points for diploma, out of a possible 45, no?

Given that you don't get an E for either TOK and your EE.

You can take HL for any class, and SL for any class?

All ab initio languages and math studies can only be taken at SL.

Pick your worst two subjects for SL? Or what?

Umm... If you wanna put it that way, sure.

• Like 2

Everyone else seems to have answered your questions already.

Just wanted to add that you can't simply "pick your 2 worst subjects" as your SL..your school will offer specific courses at SL and HL and you will have to take them. So it all depends on what your school offers and at what level. I would've taken bio HL and maths HL if I was given the opportunity, but my school only offered them at SL and those are definitely by best subjects by far.

• Like 3