CS HL or Physics HL?

Benji Jung

Hello,

I am a new student to the IB programme. I took my IGCSE exams in May, and my results are as follows:

Maths (Extended): A*

Coordinated Science: AA

Business Studies: A*

History: A

English First Language (Extended): C

French First Language: A

I am not that good in languages and I don't like studying them either. In terms of maths and science, I love maths and physics, but I hate biology, and I think that is the reason why I only got AA in Science. I started studying Business 2 years ago, and I love the course too. Right now, I am considering to go to a Business School later, and I want to get as many IB points as possible, as I am aiming for at least 38.

These are the subjects I chose in IB for now:

English A SL

French B HL

Maths SL

Physics HL

Economics HL

Computer Science SL

Our school doesn't let us take neither bilingual nor irregular diploma. (The school is called Dulwich College Seoul btw, and it is in South Korea)

As far as I know, our school doesn't let students who did not take Further Maths in IGCSE to take IB Maths HL, which means I cannnot take the course. However, there are no restrictions or whatsoever regarding Physics course, so I decided to take Physics HL. In terms of second subject in Group 4, I took CS SL.

However, my tutor told me than Physics HL is not required for Business Schools and students only take HL if they want to do engineering later on. Besides, I have to get as my IB points as possible anyway, so I decided to change my programme. I am not good in languages and I don't like them either, and I cannot take Maths HL, so I have to decide between Physics and CS. But they also told me that CS HL is only recommended for the same purpose, i.e. students who want to do engineering later.