Chose the wrong subject and now I think I'm going to fail

Hi everyone,

I've been extremely stressed out recently and I feel that I've made a terrible mistake. 

I'm currently taking Arabic A self-taught and I've quickly realized that although Arabic is my mother tongue, I haven't learned it in many years and therefore the curriculum is too difficult for me and I don't believe I can pass, and if I do, I would get a bad grade which I don't want. However, the other alternatives are German B and German Ab Initio. I should note that it is now nearly the end of IB1 and this whole year I've been doing Arabic. I want to switch to German, but because I have several years of experience in German, I feel that my school will object to me pursuing German ab and only allow me to take B which is difficult, but besides that, I've missed an entire year's worth of work which makes it essentially as much of a gamble as me taking Arabic A. I'm now extremely worried I will not pass because Arabic is completely not in my range of abilities and German B is already challenging as is and on top of that, having to catch up on a year's worth of work is a dreadful thought. I really don't know what to do. I know I made a terrible misjudgment when I chose Arabic A but to be frank, I did not anticipate it being this challenging especially as it is self taught meaning I have no classroom-environment support. I'm beginning to even toy with the idea of taking the certificate instead so I won't have to take Arabic A or German B but my parents are pretty opposed to that idea. I really don't know what to do. 

Any help or advice would be appreciated. 

Edited by KNH99

34 minutes ago, KNH99 said:

Hi everyone,

I've been extremely stressed out recently and I feel that I've made a terrible mistake.