P3 HL BIOLOGY

Win yourself!

16 minutes ago, ls78 said:

I found paper 3 quite pleasant, actually. I picked option B, how about you?

That's good for you!!!

I studied option D (human physiology) well, it wasn't very easy! There were some tricky questions, as well as others referring to some unimportant parts of the option... parts that our teachers haven't told us to focus on.... But I hope in a decent final mark....

Do you think they will lower the boundaries due to P1 and P2?? (Hope soooo) 

On 5/8/2017 at 0:43 AM, Win yourself! said:

That's good for you!!!

I studied option D (human physiology) well, it wasn't very easy! There were some tricky questions, as well as others referring to some unimportant parts of the option... parts that our teachers haven't told us to focus on.... But I hope in a decent final mark....

Also did Option D – felt really good about Section A and the Paper 3 in general. Think this paper's meant to make up for lower boundaries on P1 (and perhaps P2). 

The hormones & receptors 6-mark question was also unexpected and I think for 5-6 marks not only do you need to describe the mechanism of Steroid and Peptide hormones, but refer to the distinctions in their respective receptors and how that relates to their specific function. Personally talked about how the locations of the receptors accommodate for the different solubilities of steroid and peptide hormones and such, but couldn't figure out anything else to talk about. 

There was a generally good range of questions covering most of the topics in the Option syllabus. Honestly was expecting a bit more on nutrition and diet, but in retrospect they have never tested knowledge on determining the energy content of food, so I guess that's the nutrition component. The mechanism of cholera was something I literally just reviewed the morning before the P3 so glad it came up XD 

• Like 1

On 5/7/2017 at 9:43 PM, Win yourself! said:

That's good for you!!!