This is a topic for all who need to change their IB subjects.

I am in my first year of the IB diploma and I am taking Biology SL and Business and Management HL while i had not known that to go into medicine i would have to take Biology as HL and Chemistry HL.

The question is that is it allowed according to the IBO to change from one sbjects to another ( in my case from Business and Management HL to Chemistry HL) and also is it allowed to changed from an SL level subject to HL ( from Bio SL to Bio HL).

THANKS

From what I understand is you're allowed to change but it depends on your school and whether they will let you change. The IB doesn't really know about your subjects until you're registered to write your exams, and that is sometime in second year. Again with the SL to HL thing depends on your school and if they'll let you, classes may be full etc, plus you may have to switch around other HLs and SLs if your school goes on the only 3 HLs and SLs policy.

The IBO has no specific rules about it, but it would be extremely hectic to start Chemistry HL from scratch. The IBO does have specific rules about the minimum number of teaching hours you have to attend in order to be eligible to sit the exam and complete your labs. If your school can accommodate your change in subjects while fulfilling the teaching hours' requirement, then they might be willing to let you switch.

Biology SL to HL is probably not going to be too hard to manage though.

• 5 months later...