Externalities

Hey guys, I'm studying for a economics test on externalities and I have some trouble understand the graphs. For example:

If I want to look the externalities of smoking ciggarettes. So on my graph, S = MSC and D = MPB. Smoking is a negative externality because it affects people around you in a negative way. So now I know that the new curve will be to the left of either S or D.I thought that the new curve should be to the left of the demand curve because the marginal social benefit is lower that the marginal private benefit. But this is apparently wrong.

My book is calling the "initial" supply curve for S = MPC (marginal private cost) and then the new supply curve is S = MSC (marginal social cost) and I understand why that is, because the social costs are higher than the private costs. What I don't get is how you tell where the new curve will be. Because if the new curve is to the left of S or D, it shows a negative externality but how do you know what curve you should pick?

I know that I'm not explaining this very well but if you have any ideas on what I'm talking about I'd really appreciate the help!

EDIT: Does it have anything to do with if it is an externality caused by production or consumption? So like if it's an externality caused by production, there will be a new supply curve and when the externality is caused by consumption, there will be a new demand curve?

Edited by Fermat

As smoking would be regarded as a negative consumption externality (due to the effect on third-parties via consumption, not production - textbooks usually use pollution emitted from production of X as a negative production externality), you'd be correct in stating that the MSB curve is to the left of the demand curve (MPB).

Your book might be referring to a negative production externality at this point, as a negative consumption externality (like cigarette smoking) has S = MPC = MSC (social costs = private costs).