Does having a job count for CAS hours? And is it a good idea to work during the school year?

PeriPeri

Hello everyone!

I have been offered a part-time position at a library, with about 8-10 hours a week. I would absolutely love to work there and it is a good way to earn some money on the side. Also, I think it would be good experience for me as I have not had a paid job before.

The problem is that I am very involved with other extra-curricular activities and as I am in my first year of the IB Diploma Program , I want to be able to focus on my studies and get high marks. Since I can't do it all, either the job goes or some extra-curricular activities.

Therefore, I am thinking of declining the job offer unless it can count for CAS hours or if it is beneficial for me in terms of my resume and applying for university....

So would working count for CAS hours? And is it a good idea to work during the school year?

Any kind of opinion on this would be greatly appreciated!!! xx

Your CAS hours have to be voluntary, which rules out paid work, I am afraid. Also, I would decline the job offer. If you are going to focus on your studies, there will be times when you won't have any time for much else than school work. I don't think any employer would be very enthusiastic about that.

It's not allowed. Working in a library for free would count as Service but obviously you can't earn on it. Though if you had a good supervisor... ;) I think having a job in IB is quite challenging but you could try for a month or two maybe, as in the beginning there is not so much school work I suppose. But later you will be grateful for any moment you don't have to be involved in any extra activities and write your essay or sth instead ;d

• Like 1

Hello everyone!