Bad linguistics but good grades

rahuld3eora

So I am an IB student and i have taken PCM HL and Hindi, english and business SL. My overall in the 3rd semister was 35 but i got 777 in HLs and a 446 in SLs. 44 being in the two languages. My councellor has recommended me to write to the universities thorough common app that i have a linguistics problem and she said that she will also mention it in her recommendation. I have got 4s in Hindi in all 3 semisters and my english grades in order are 6-5-4, even in IGCSE the only Bs i got were in english and french. I would like to know if writing about this would have any impact on the way universities evaluate me, since the rest of my grades are pretty good.

One more thing is that i currently have a 1970 in my SAT (M-710, W-680 and CR-580) but i am giving it again and expect noting less than a 2150(M-780, W-750 and CR-650-700) So will geting a high score in english on the SAT effect my attempt to convince then that i am bad in linguistics, i truly am but the SAT scores may suggest otherwise. My predicted is definitely a 38 or 39 on 42( i might get a 6 in hindi since my teacher got changed). Could anyone please tell me if this is a good idea? My dream university is Stanford, any idea how they would view it?

My intended major is Mathematics and Philosophy.

Err...Stanford may NOT work out. 38 is good..but not good enough. YOU MAY get in but make sure that your common app essay and supplements are all PERFECT. If you have a good amount of extra curriculars as well...then I shouldn't see why you can't get into Stanford. Of course if you plan to apply for Financial Aid.... well you can forget about that.

Lastly, have some realistic backups as well.

Cheers and good luck!