How Many Hours Of Personal Study Per Night ( Not Homework)

rolfmaomachizlin

Hello!

I have recently started my first year of IB and so far so good ( except for maths, but i'm not here to whine). I wanted to know, since none of my teachers have a straight answer and seem like they don't know their own job, how many hours of PERSONAL study I should be doing per night. That is after I have successfully completed my homework, and I revise the topic I am currently studying.

I have created myself a little ( big) schedule for my personal study/revision. This schedule includes 16 hours of personal work per week, not including homeworks and assignments. 2 hours on weekdays, no work on friday and 8 hours on the weekend.

So my questions are:

a) How many hours do you think I SHOULD be doing in order to achieve a 6 or above in all IB subjects and is it achievable by a normally intelligent man.

b) Do you think my current schedule is reasonable?

c) I often find myself with all the the reasons in the world to work, but yet do no find the inner will to kick my own ass and work, how do I fix this? Thank you.

Kind Regards, my friends.

Nicolas.Prieur

Well, at least in my case my studying really varies because I have some pretty coast-by weeks where I'm not given much work or tests and thus only do about an hour a day (or less). Then, there's days where I have surmounts of work and then it's about 5 hours per day (during the week). Hmm on average I think 2 hours is a pretty reasonable bet, and you should do fine at that level. Good luck with your two years of IB! :D

Guest Mo Rahman